A NEW ROOST!

Some big news, folks—I've landed in a new nest: Upstart Crow Literary! I’m delighted to join the very fine group at Upstart, and thrilled about this move.

As I did over on the UC blog (please visit the site if you haven't been: Upstart Crow), I'd like to share a bit about what I'm hoping to find in my query inbox this year.  You can find more general information under the Wishlist and Query tabs, but here's a detailed list:

For YA, I’m interested in:
• Family stories, sister and sibling stories, and mother-daughter stories. In many YA novels, the main character’s relationship with their mother is troubled, and the mother is toxic in some way.  I’d love to see a book with a strong—albeit complex—mother-daughter (or son) relationship.
• Fantasy - I want rich, big world-building and gutsy, smart characters, especially historical fantasy that takes inspiration from folklore of a non-Western tradition.
• Science fiction that deals with changes we might see in our lifetime—more cutting edge science, less space opera (though I’m open to a juicy space opera too).
• Epistolary novels; a novel-within-a-novel; a journal format; secret letters; found documents— I’m interested in stories that use these kinds of elements.
• A sharp, irresistible, crush-worthy but unreliable narrator.
• A word about romance. I enjoy a good, swoony romance, but probably not by itself. Romance as a part of a larger story? Yes, please!
• Some of my favorite non-client YAs of late: The Spectacular Now, The Knife of Never Letting Go, Fangirl, What I Saw and How I Lied, The Seeds of America trilogy, The Montmaray Journals series, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, Grasshopper Jungle.

For MG:
• Mystery! I’d love, love, love to see something that makes me think of Agatha Christie, but set in the US.
• Edgy, dark MG that pushes the boundaries of “upper MG.”
• Contemporary stories with a female main character who is passionate about science, math, engineering, ie. STEM. (For YA too!)
• I love historical fiction, and want projects that feel vital and alive, that balance history against characters who are accessible, yet believably of the past.
• All the above in YA Fantasy is true for MG too. In addition, I’d also like to see fantasy that’s based on American folklore—think Johnny Appleseed, Paul Bunyan and Babe the Blue Ox, John Henry, Sally Ann Thunder, etc.
• Some favorite non-client MGs: The War that Saved My Life, Wolf Hollow, El Deafo, When You Reach Me, One Crazy Summer, Cuckoo Song, The Riverman, Breadcrumbs, The Wednesday Wars.

For Picture books:
• Texts that just get it when it comes to childhood, like Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day; Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse; or More More More Said the Baby.
• Conceptual texts like Duck, Rabbit or Not a Box.
• Character-driven stories that introduce me to someone as indelible as Olivia, George and Martha, the Pigeon, or Miss Nelson.
• The pairing of informational text with lyrical voice, such as in Over and Under the Snow.
• Illustrators whose work is bold and full of emotion. I’m a fan of Sophie Blackall, Zachariah OHora, Frann Preston-Grann, Simona Ciraolo, Emily Hughes, Gabi Swiatkowska (and many more!).
• Some favorite non-client picture books: The Dark, Sophie’s Squash, The Princess and the Pony, A Home for Bird, This is Not a Picture Book!, Me…Jane, Flora and the Flamingo, Home by Carson Ellis, Boss Baby, Leo: A Ghost Story.
I’m an editorial agent, and passionate about my clients and their projects. The lists above are a grab-bag of interests and ideas, but please try me, even if you’re not sure if your project is described above—I love to be surprised!

Happy Publication to FALLING FOR THE BEST MAN by Amanda Ashby!

I'm so happy to say that Amanda Ashby's next novel is available!

FALLING FOR THE BEST MAN is the first book in Amanda's new series, the Sisters of Wishing Bridge Farm, and is perfect for fans of TV’s Gilmore Girls and Hart of Dixie.

He's the best man and her secret fling -- who said being a wedding planner was easy?

What's worse than running into your ex-hookup at the airport? When said 'hookup" is the best man for the most important wedding of your career, and he's on the hunt for a fake girlfriend. Between a hysterical bride and a wedding party gone wild, wedding planner Emmy Watson can’t afford any more disasters if she wants to save her beloved Wishing Bridge Farm. Which is why she puts the best man on lockdown. Unfortunately, he also happens to be the one guy who can make her forget everything except the way his kisses make her feel.

All Christopher Henderson needs is a fake girlfriend to convince his bosses that his bad boy reputation is a thing of the pastso he can land his dream job. What better place to find said companion than at a wholesome vintage wedding. The only thing he didn't count on was seeing Emmy, the woman who dumped him. The one he hasn’t been able to get off his mind.


There's no denying the spark between them, but he’s a globetrotter and she’s a homebody, and falling in love is something neither of them has in their plans.

Click here to buy a copy, or to read an an excerpt! 

Enjoy!