Super Happy Book Birthday to SUPER HAPPY PARTY BEARS books 5 and 6!

Congratulations to Marcie Colleen on the publication of the fifth and sixth books in the SUPER HAPPY PARTY BEARS series!

The Super Happy Party Bears are back in this silly chapter book series filled with full color illustrations and adorable animals.



In BAT TO THE BONE, the bat-only punk rock band “Flying Blind” has a dedicated following of other nocturnal music lovers. Their screechy sound really meshes with sonar hearing. While on tour to expand its fan base, Flying Blind stops at the Grumpy Woods for a midnight show. Soon tons of rock fans are keeping everyone awake at night! But when the bears start jamming with the band, its sound changes, driving away the crowd. This time it’s Opal Owl who saves the day―and returns some peace and quiet to the woods.

With music, mayhem, dancing and donuts, Super Happy Party Bears: Bat to the Bone rocks the party.







The Super Happy Party Bears are in awe of their new friend, Butter, a groovy caterpillar who’s got the moves. This Jitterbug can breakdance, tango, and boogie-woogie. Butter becomes an honorary Super Happy Party Bear dedicated to being goofy and spreading the party spirit!

When Butter mysteriously disappears, the bears frantically search for him, only to discover that the Jitterbug has morphed into a beautiful butterfly! The bears must accept that jitterbug has grown up and must follow his own fluttery path.

Cheerful, sweet, and full of fun, Super Happy Party Bears: THE JITTERBUG will put you in the mood to dance.


Congratulations to Marcie for this amazing, happy series! Books 7 and 8 will follow in the new year. 

To buy copies, please visit

Announcing a deal! HOPE IN THE HOLLER by Lisa Lewis Tyre

I'm so happy to share that Lisa Lewis Tyre's MG novel HOPE IN THE HOLLER, has sold in a two book deal to Nancy Paulsen at Nancy Paulsen Books / PRH!

HOPE IN THE HOLLER is the poignant - and funny - story of a girl trying to be brave and find her place in the world after she's sent to live with scheming relatives.

Right before Wavie's mother died, she gave Wavie a list of instructions to help her find her way in life, including this one: Be brave, Wavie B! You got as much right to a good life as anybody, so find it! But little did Wavie's mom know that events would conspire to bring Wavie back to Conley Hollow, the Appalachian hometown her mother tried to leave behind. Now Wavie's back in the Holler--and in the clutches of her Aunt Samantha Rose. Life with the devilish Samantha Rose and her revolting cousin Hoyt is no picnic, but there's real pleasure in sleeping in her own mother's old bed, and making friends with the funny, easygoing kids her aunt calls the "neighborhood-no-accounts." With their help, Wavie just might be able to prevent her aunt from becoming her legal guardian, and find her courage and place in the world.


Announcing a deal! GHOSTS OF ORDINARY OBJECTS by Angie Smibert

I'm delighted to share that Angie Smibert's MG historical fiction novel GHOSTS OF ORDINARY OBJECTS, has sold in a three book deal to Rebecca Davis at Boyds Mills!

Sometimes the hardest story to love is your own.

Set in a Southern Virginia coal mining town in 1942, GHOSTS OF ORDINARY OBJECTS: BONE’S GIFT introduces us to twelve year old Bone Phillips, who can see the stories in ordinary objects—and she doesn’t much like it. It’s her family Gift, as her Mamaw calls it. In a jelly jar, fiddle or even a butter yellow sweater, Bone sees tales of loss, grief, love and hope. But these aren’t the stories Bone likes to tell. She’d much rather spin yarns of gypsies or talking animals. Bone’s Mama had the Gift too, but Bone doesn’t know much about her; she died when Bone was young. But when Bone finds a note saying that the Gift killed her mother, she knows it’s time to learn more.

GHOSTS OF ORDINARY OBJECTS: BONE’S GIFT weaves Bone’s story and the mystery of her mother’s death into a beautifully resonant tale about the power of story.  Author Angie Smibert summons this coal-mining town to life by drawing together history and Appalachian folklore, giving us not just the facts, but the heart of this place. She populates it with characters just as richly felt – among them Bone, whose quiet strength radiates, beautifully, through this book.


SONG OF THE CURRENT Teaser!



Check out this teaser trailer for Sarah Tolcser's SONG OF THE CURRENT! This was created by a high school student in Australia -- how awesome is that?

Announcing a Deal: BABY LOVES SCIENCE! 5 & 6 coming next year

I'm delighted to share that the next books in the BABY LOVES SCIENCE! series by Ruth Spiro will be published next year by Charlesbridge. Topics this time are Gravity and Coding, and I can't wait to see how Ruth makes the magic happen again: her ability to explain complex scientific principles in 75 words or less never ceases to amaze and delight me! We're so lucky to have a wonderful team working on these books -- illustrator Irene Chan's sweet and colorful artwork brings the books to life, and the whole group at Charlesbridge, especially editor Alyssa Pusey, couldn't be better to work with.
Can't wait to see covers for these, and in the meantime, enjoy the first four below!




Happy Publication Day to SONG OF THE CURRENT by Sarah Tolcser!

Happy publication day to Sarah Tolcser – her thrilling, immersive new YA fantasy is out today!

SONG OF THE CURRENT is Sarah Tolcser’s debut novel. Set in a vividly imagined world, with action expertly balanced against building romantic tension, it features a fabulous heroine – Caro is fiery, headstrong, resourceful; longing to feel at home in her own skin, but determined to find happiness on her own terms.

Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. Her father is a wherryman, as was her grandmother. All Caro needs is for the river god to whisper her name, and her fate is sealed. But at seventeen, Caro may be too late.

So when pirates burn ships and her father is arrested, Caro volunteers to transport mysterious cargo in exchange for his release. Secretly, Caro hopes that by piloting her own wherry, the river god will finally speak her name.

But when the cargo becomes more than Caro expected, she finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies. With much more than her father's life at stake, Caro must choose between the future she knows, and the one she could have never imagined.

Praise for SONG OF THE CURRENT:

★ “Tolcser blends the right amount of epic fantasy, sea voyage, and romance for a rollicking, swashbuckling adventure.” – Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ “Ultimately this story is one of self-discovery…All the characters are fully developed and complex…While the narrative is often action-packed, the pacing does not feel rushed and gives readers time to learn about the characters and the world they inhabit. This enticingly written tale will take readers on an adventure and leave them craving more. For fans of titles such as Heidi Heilig’s The Girl from Everywhere or Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch. Highly recommended.” – School Library Journal, starred review

“Caro’s distinctive, engaging voice plunges readers into the action and doesn’t let up… Kristin Cashore’s heroines find a worthy sister in Caro; readers will eagerly await her further adventures in the hinted-at sequel.” – Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Adventurous and dangerous! Fate and fires, pirates and shadowmen, Song of the Current will carry you into a treacherous and fantastic world, which you will not want to leave." – Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of CARAVAL

To buy a copy, please visit:

CONGRATULATIONS to author Sarah Tolcser – you can visit her site, or say hi on twitter!

Happy publication day to JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX!

Well, May 30th – you’re a lucky day!  This is the day that Julie Israel’s debut YA novel, JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX is out in the world!

Funny, warm, and moving, Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index is a contemporary YA novel about loss, how deeply we can know others, and making our own happiness; perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Jandy Nelson’s The Sky Is Everywhere.

Sixty-five days after the death of her older sister, sixteen-year-old Juniper Lemon discovers the break-up letter addressed to “You” Camilla wrote the day she died. Juni is shocked—she knew nothing of this You, and now the gaping hole in her life that was her sister feels that much bigger. She’s determined to uncover the identity of You and deliver the letter. Maybe that would help fill the hole, even if only a bit.

But what Juniper doesn’t expect is that in searching for You she will unearth other notes and secrets—and that may be just what she needs to sort out her own mess.

I knew I had to offer rep on this novel about 20 pages in.  Juniper is funny and smart with an appealing indomitability -- she grieving, and struggling through that process, sometimes swamped by it, but always trying to move forward, and go deeper; she’s considering the process of grieving while living it. It’s in her ability to be reflective that she finds the strength to move forward. This is a book that made me cry, as often as it made me cackle with laughter.

We’ve been receiving lovely reviews, including a star from School Library Journal!

★ “Themes of loss and emotional growth resonate throughout this novel. Told from Juniper’s point of view, the book … is peppered with lists, poems, notes, and letters…Israel brings together a diverse cast of characters with problems to which many readers can relate…This heartwarming work will appeal to fans of Cori McCarthy’s You Were Here. A well-told story of teen struggles and grief that will resonate with readers.” – School Library Journal, starred review

“Israel’s debut novel sensitively examines loss, survivor’s guilt, and how one girl attempts to rebuild her life…handles the long, painful process of negotiating grief gently and realistically while cleverly interweaving the light mystery of “you’s” identity throughout, keeping readers guessing as Juni steps closer to finding closure.” – Publishers Weekly

You can buy JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX here:


Find Julie here and here – give her a shout hello!