Happy Book Birthday to THE REVENGE PLAYBOOK by Rachael Allen


I can't tell you how excited I am about Rachael Allen's wonderful new YA novel, The Revenge Playbook, which is available now.  But don't take my word for it, here's what Booklist and a few others have to say:

The novel deftly and gracefully explores many difficult themes, ranging from sexual assault to hazing, expertly balancing weighty issues with the more lighthearted struggles of high school. This timely novel provocatively shines a light on the power that many high-school football players can wield and sometimes abuse.” —Booklist

“In the girl-power revenge spirit of E. Lockhart’s award-winning The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, Allen’s novel pits wronged girls against the quintessential teenaged old-boy network: the varsity football team.”  —VOYA

"This loose readalike to E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks (Disney-Hyperion, 2008), celebrates girl power and focuses on challenging “old boys’ clubs” traditions…It’s a book about high school, bullying, popularity, and finding your own voice while doing what is right. VERDICT: A fun YA title that challenges sexist attitudes in modern-day high school culture.” — School Library Journal

"While the initial setup feels comic, the book takes a hard look at real difficulties. Written in chapters featuring each of the girls, their different personalities add a nice level of complexity to the story. A deceptively light look at the dark side of football culture." — Kirkus Reviews

This is exactly why I fell in love with Rachael Allen's writing -- she sneaks up on you with the big stuff, in the most elegant, skillful way.  Her books (this is her second, her debut was 17 FIRST KISSES) are fun to read, and stay with you for days.  I'm so proud of them both!

To celebrate the publication, Rachael has created the #BFFdraft!  Its fun, its celebrates girls and their friendships, and I love it.  You should join!  Here's more detail, from Rachael's site:

On June 16, 2015, use the hashtag #BFFdraft to talk about who you’d want in your ultimate BFF group. You can pick YA characters, celebrities, girls who are doing cool stuff to make the world a better place, girls who are already your besties. Anyone. But it’s not like a fantasy football draft where once someone gets picked, no one else can have them. (So, don’t worry. You can all be best friends with Taylor Swift.) You can also talk about what friendship means to you and what you look for in someone you #BFFdraft.

Then tweet your picks, or post a photo of you and your BFF on Instagram or Facebook, or a gif of a celebrity pick on Tumblr, all with the hashtag #BFFdraft. If you have room to add #RevengePlaybook too, that would be wonderful, but if you need those extra characters, I totally get it :)

Join in!

To buy copies of The Revenge Playbook, click here: